The Nine Planets & Associated Gemstones

1. Sun: Ruby Gemstone

Sun is the signifier of health, self-confidence, assertiveness, and independence. Ruby gemstone represents the powers of the Sun and gives you name, fame, command over life, virtue, vigor and helps enhance lifestyle as well as status.

Ruby is a very beautiful stone and it is prescribed for the planet Sun. Generally, the astrologer would prescribe this precious gemstone when the planet Sun is placed in its debilitation or afflicted by the evil planets.

2. Moon: Pearl Gemstone

Moon governs the mind, moods, emotions, and contentment in life. Pearl is said to have the power to eliminate the evil effects of the Moon. It helps you improve your mental strength, popularity fortune, and health.

The pearl gemstone is an adorable gemstone that is being used by the people from all walks of life. Generally, the mother gives the pearl to their kids as a lucky stone. The pearl is said to have a great power of resisting anger and irrelevant imagination.

3. Mercury: Emerald Gemstone

Mercury governs intelligence, commerce, investments, education and ability to handle things tactfully. Emerald, the precious stone associated with Mercury, improves brain power and faculties associated with it.

The Emerald gemstone is one of the most sought-after gemstones among the business class people and intellectuals. This lucky stone Emerald brings mental power, intelligence, and knowledge.

4. Mars: Red Coral Gemstone

Mars influences your drive to make a mark in life and ability to take things over the finishing line. Experts believe that the red colored Coral, the precious stone that represents Mars, instills courage in the person who wears it. It also ensures material pleasures.

The red coral gemstone is popularly known as Praval or Munga among the Indian people. The Red Coral represents the planet Mars. Usually, the red coral is used when the planet Mars is weak or conjoined with the malefic planets like Rahu, Ketu, Saturn, and Sun.

5. Jupiter: Yellow Sapphire Gemstone

Jupiter is the planet that governs good fortune, wealth and success. It also gives strength, vitality, and immunity. Yellow Sapphire, which represents Jupiter, has many healing powers and thus improves one's health. It also helps better financial status, increase bank balance, wealth and status.

The Yellow Sapphire is a very powerful and effective gemstone which is recommended for getting benefits of the planet Jupiter. The planet Jupiter is the significator or ruler of the wealth, wisdom, children and marriage in a female horoscope.

6. Venus: Diamond Gemstone

Venus is a planet that symbolizes love, romance, charm, beauty and controls the reproductive system. Diamond, which represents Venus, helps enhance marital bliss, mental and physical purity and promotes happiness, wealth, artistic ability and creativity.

The Diamond is by far the most expensive stones in the world. You must be aware of the Kohinoor Diamond that is under the possession of the British Government. The diamond is one the most powerful and effective gemstones in the field of the Vedic predictive astrology. The Diamond can be worn in various situations.

7. Saturn: Blue Sapphire Gemstone

Saturn is known to instill stability in life, bringing good reputation, success, and prosperity. Blue Sapphire, the Ratna associated with Saturn, helps enhance wealth, health, happiness and prosperity. It gives you protection from danger and increases detachment.

The Blue Sapphire is mostly known for both its effectiveness and notoriety as well. Most people feel that the Blue Sapphire (Neelam) can immensely harm if it does not suit. The Blue Sapphire is popularly known as Neelam.

8. Rahu: Hessonite Garnet Gemstone

Rahu's positive effects include heightened awareness, detachment, popularity, and self-fulfillment. The gem associated with Rahu is Hessonite, also known as Cinnamon stone. This gemstone helps defeat opponents, remove obstacles, and promotes peace of mind by removing mental stress.

The Gomed gemstone is recommended when the planet Rahu is posited in the 3rd, 6th and 11th house in the natal chart. The Gomed should be used after having a proper analysis of the birth chart by a wise astrologer.

9. Ketu: Chrysoberyl Cat's Eye Gemstone

Ketu is a planet of wisdom and aids the cultivation of spirituality. Cat's eye, which represents Ketu, helps improve psychic and spiritual perception. Besides, it protects you from dangers and hidden enemies.

The Cat’s Eye is an effective gemstone that was used by Lord Krishna. The Cat’s Eye is also known as Lehsuni and Vaidurya. It has a great significance in the mythology and gemmology.

The Cat’s Eyes Gemstone should be worn during Vimshottari Mahadasha and Antardasha of Ketu for 7 years. The Ketu can be highly harmful when ill-placed. However, the planet Ketu can be made effective by various remedial measures. Wearing Cat’s Eye is one of the best remedial measures for neutralizing and dispelling the negative impact of the Ketu.

 Astrological Planet & Respective Gemstone

If you want to know about which gem will suit you as per your birth chart report. Get a personalized Jyotish Gemstone Recommendation report from our expert astrologers, instantly. Use our customized Vedic Astrology services done by our astrologers Pandit Krishan Sharma & Pandit Sushil Bohra Ji to generate your personalized gemstone report. For accurate results, you will need your exact birth time, birthplace, and birth date, as found on your birth certificate.

Below we offer a list of the Zodiac signs and the dates associated with them as well as the assigned gemstone. You may decide to choose your Zodiac gemstone or your birth month stone or both!


Zodiac Sign

Primary Gemstone



Ruby Gemstone



Pearl Gemstone


Aries, Scorpio

Red Coral Gemstone


Gemini, Virgo

Emerald Gemstone


Sagittarius, Pisces

Yellow Sapphire


Taurus, Libra



Capricorn, Aquarius

Blue Sapphire


Hessonite Gemtone


Cat’s Eye Gemstone